Death Benefits under Florida's Workers' Compensation law
Florida's workers' compensation laws provide benefits to the families of workers who are killed on the job or subsequently die from their injuries. These benefits include funeral expenses not to exceed $7500. This amount is due within 14 days after the insurance company receives the bill. In addition, up to $150,000 is payable to family members of the deceased worker. The relationship to the worker (spouse, child, sibling, parent), will determine the percentage of death benefits to be paid. This area of the workers' compensation law can be complex. For more information, you can contact Johnson & Gilbert, P.A. for a free consultation or request a free copy of my book "It's Not Rocket Science, It's Workers' Compensation".