Florida injured workers must report the injury within 30 days
Florida's Workers' Compensation laws provide lost wages and medical care for those who are injured in the course and scope of their employment. However, in order to preserve your rights to these benefits, you must notify your employer within 30 days of the injury. Notification can be done verbally or in writing to anyone in a supervisory capacity. I am often amazed when I hear an injured worker's case has been denied because they waited a few days to report the injury. I hear all types of reasons for delaying the initial report..."It was the weekend"; "I thought I would get better"; "I didn't want to jeopardize my job". The point is, it doesn't matter! As long as notice is given within 30 days, the legal requirement has been met. No reason need be given for the delay and an employer cannot deny benefits on this basis, regardless of whether the "company" policy requires immediate reporting. A company's policy cannot trump Florida law.
If you have been injured on the job and have questions, or your case has been denied, contact a Florida Workers' Compensation attorney at Johnson & Gilbert, P.A. at 1-800-556-8890 for a free consultation. You can also request a free copy of our workers' compensation book which contains useful information regarding Florida's Workers' Compensation system.