Nationwide penalties for drivers caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more include the loss of driving license and jail time, whether they have caused an accident or not.
Florida’s ammunition in the fight against DUIThe consequences of driving under the influence are more serious in Florida than in most other states. Minimum insurance levels in Florida start at $10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 for property damage liability. These levels may go up for drivers having a record of certain traffic violations. Once you have been charged with a DUI offense, though, the law requires you to carry much higher levels of insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage jumps to $350,000 per accident, calculated as three times $100,000 per person for bodily injury and $50,000 for property damage.
The DUI offender will have to keep this level of coverage for at least three years before becoming eligible for lower levels, provided his or her driving record is clean.
Failure to increase the liability coverage level leads to a driver’s license suspension and fees for reinstatement that increase with every new offense.
Driving under the influence of alcohol causes devastating damage to Florida motorists, pedestrians and bikers, who may have to face the loss of a loved one, terrible injuries, pain and suffering and financial hardship. This often comes on top of a crushing sense that the accident was unjust and revolting.
While the Florida State requirements of higher insurance coverage may deter some drivers from drinking while driving, a very unpleasant consequence is that some drivers simply do not adjust the level of coverage and drive uninsured.
For victims of drunken driving crashes, this could mean that the extra protection lawmakers have sought to offer them has vanished.
If you have been injured in a car, truck or motorcycle accident caused by a drunken driver or uninsured motorist, call the Daytona Beach attorneys of Johnson & Gilbert PA today toll free at (800) 556-8890 and locally at (386) 673-4412 or send our lawyers an email to arrange a free consultation.