Getting hurt at work can be a pain more ways than one. Whatever part of your body is injured, finding your way through Florida’s worker’s compensation bureaucracy can be a pain in the neck.
Certain steps must be taken to insure timely payment of worker’s comp benefits. Many persons have found it beneficial to work with professionals like those at Ormond Beach-based Johnson & Gilbert, whose experienced Florida workers’ compensation attorneys have served greater Daytona Beach-area workers’ comp clients for many years.
Good Communications Help Move Comp Claims Forward
A key to initiating a workers’ comp claim is good communications. Certain steps must be followed, beginning with notifying your employer as soon as possible after you are injured. Florida law requires notification to the employer no later than 30 days after an accident occurred or of your knowledge of the job-related injury.
When you report the injury, you should ask your employer for the name of the company’s authorized workers’ compensation physician. You may be referred to the employer’s insurance carrier for a doctor’s reference. If you are told to call the insurance carrier for the referral, the carrier’s contact information should be posted at the work site.
It is important you see an authorized doctor for treatment. If it’s an emergency and contact information is unavailable it’s permissible to seek treatment from the nearest emergency service and notify your employer as soon as possible.
Good communication is important between you and the authorized workers’ compensation physician. It’s important to give the doctor an accurate description of how you were injured on the job and to keep a good record of what you tell the doctor or members of his staff.
- Describe how your injury is related to your job
- Answer all questions regarding your current and past medical condition
- Give the doctor all pertinent information about how you were injured
- Find out when you will be able to return to work
Make sure you keep all your appointments with the doctor and, if cleared to work again, but not at the same job, find out what you can and cannot be expected to do.
Our Workers’ Comp Attorneys Can Guide You Along The Paper Trail
State law requires your employer report your injury to the insurance company within seven days. Typically the insurance company will then contact you within five business days and send you information outlining your rights and obligations. That’s when the paper parade begins in earnest and experienced workers’ compensation attorneys can make sure your claim meets Florida’s requirements for speedy and fair resolution.
Among the forms you may receive are:
- A copy of the accident report. You should review this for accuracy and correct any mistakes for the record
- A form authorizing release of medical records
- A fraud statement, which must be signed and returned. Workers’ compensation payments could be withheld if this statement is not returned
- A mileage reimbursement form for trips to the doctor for examination and treatment
Helping injured workers navigate Florida’s workers’ compensation system has been an important part our law practice at Johnson & Gilbert, P.A., serving clients in the greater Daytona Beach and Ormond Beach areas for more than 15 years. If you’ve been injured on the job we can assist you with your claim. Call us at 386.673.4412 or toll-free at 800.556.8890 for a free consultation.