Some of the most heartbreaking car accidents are those caused by drunk drivers. Despite the widespread public awareness campaigns about the dangers of drinking and driving, Florida motorists continue to get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol.
Unfortunately, victims pay the price when they suffer serious injuries or death.
While victims are entitled to be compensated for their injuries, these claims can be more complicated due to a possible criminal proceeding against the negligent driver, as well as a civil lawsuit. At Johnson & Gilbert, P.A., our knowledgeable car accident attorneys are ready to guide you through the process of filing your claim and fighting to hold the drunk driver responsible for compensating for your injuries or the death of a loved one.
Drunk Driving in Florida: How Big of a Problem Is This?
Nationwide, 10,497 people were killed in drunk driving accidents in 2016—28 percent of all car accidents deaths, and approximately one death per hour.
In Florida, 3,160 people were injured and 461 victims were killed in drunk driving crashes in 2016. Drivers aged 21–to–34 pose the highest risk of causing drunk driving accidents involving fatalities. In addition, males are much more likely than females to be killed in one of these accidents.
How Much Alcohol Consumption Does It Take to Impair Driving?
Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is the percentage of alcohol in a person’s bloodstream. Even when a person has a low BAC, his driving abilities can be significantly impaired.
Here's how various BAC levels can reduce driving abilities:
- 0.04 to 0.06: Feelings of relaxation and minor impairment of reasoning and memory.
- 0.07 to 0.09: Impairment of a person’s balance, speech, vision, and control.
- 0.10 to 0.12: Significant reduction in a person’s motor coordination, loss of judgment, and slurred speech.
- 0.13: Blurred vision, loss of balance, more significant reduction in motor coordination, anxiety, and restlessness.
Florida’s Law on Drunk Driving
In Florida, a driver is considered impaired with a BAC level of 0.08 percent or higher. For a person under 21, there's zero tolerance for any level of alcohol in his system. If a person is convicted of his first DUI offense, the penalties he could face include one year in jail, fines of up to $2,000, probation, and community service.
If you were injured in an accident caused by a drunk driver, he could also be responsible for compensating you for your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. However, you may have to fight for the compensation that you deserve. Learn how to hold the negligent driver accountable. Fill out our online form to schedule your free consultation today.